Failure to Timely Account for and Properly Disburse Resident Trust Funds After Death
Summary
The deficiency involves the facility’s failure to properly manage and disburse resident trust funds and to provide final accountings of resident fund balances within 30 days of a resident’s death, as required. Record review showed that for multiple deceased residents, the facility either did not report the full balance of funds to the Department of Social Services Third Party Liability (TPL) Unit, did not submit Personal Funds Account Balance Reports timely, or withdrew funds for room and board without written authorization or after the resident had expired. For one resident, the ledger showed a trust balance of $8,119.01 at the time of death, but only $3,904.41 was initially reported to TPL, while $3,311.00 was later withdrawn for current and back room and board and an additional $51.60 was withdrawn, leaving $2,311.60 unreported for over 200 days; interest of $2.22 was also held and not reported until more than two months after it was deposited. Another resident’s ledger showed a deposit of $1,073.37 from a previous facility that was documented as personal spending money, but the facility withdrew $690.00 for room and board without authorization and did not use those funds for cremation services or report them to TPL within the required timeframe. Additional record reviews showed similar issues for other deceased residents. One resident had $2,792.85 in the trust account and a subsequent direct deposit of $2,064.00; only $2,618.55 was reported to TPL more than 40 days after death, while $2,058.60 was withdrawn for room and board and not reported. Another resident’s $51.30 trust balance was withdrawn for back room and board and not reported to TPL for over 300 days, and interest of $0.04 remained without a Personal Funds Account Balance Report submitted for more than 300 days after the interest was deposited. A further resident’s $1,295.84 trust balance was not reported to TPL until 81 days after death, and interest of $1.15 was held without a balance report for over 200 days. For another deceased resident, interest of $3.46 continued to be held, and a Personal Funds Account Balance Report was not submitted for more than 200 days after the interest deposit. In an interview, the Administrator and Business Office Manager cited turnover in the Business Office Manager position, the new BOM’s efforts to “catch up” paperwork, uncertainty about how to handle remaining interest, lack of awareness that transferred funds were trust funds, and an incorrect belief that there were 60 days to complete the Personal Funds Balance Report and/or submit refunds.
Penalty
Resources
Below are regulatory guidelines relevant to this citation:
Trusted data from CMS and state health departments
Every citation, penalty and Plan of Correction is sourced from public CMS records (latest release August 26, 2026) and official state health department websites — never guesswork.
In your survey window? See what surveyors are citing.
The Survey-Prep Report maps your facility's risk from 12 months of CMS and state citation data — what's being cited around you and what to check first. $129 one-time.